Profile picture in black and white of Mike Daly

Mike Daly

Visiting Professor

Fossil fuels: the global oil and gas endowment; the future of petroleum exploration; continental sedimentary basin development and resource distribution; exploration of the arctic seas.
Energy in developing countries: Sub-Saharan Africa resources; the energy-water nexus.
Economics, Policy & Politics: State owned National Oil Companies, their resources and future.

Email: mike.daly@earth.ox.ac.uk Visit Mike's website
Profile picture in black and white of Sarah Darby

Sarah Darby

Senior Researcher and deputy leader, Lower Carbon Futures group

Economics-Policy & Politics: Customer-utility relations, fuel poverty
Electricity Networks: Smart meter rollout
Demand and Efficiency: Residential demand, energy advice programmes, consumption feedback, and social learning

Email: sarah.darby@ouce.ox.ac.uk Visit Sarah's website
Profile picture in black and white of Richard Darton

Richard Darton

Professor of Engineering Science

Transport: Car fleet sustainability, health effects of pollution
Economics, Policy & Politics: Defining and measuring energy security
Energy in Developing Countries: Nigerian energy economy
Demand and Efficiency: Heat exchanger networks and pinch analysis
Fossil Fuels: Negative emissions technologies; assessment of geoengineering schemes

Email: richard.darton@eng.ox.ac.uk Visit Richard's website
Profile picture in black and white of Bill David

Bill David

Professor of Chemistry

Storage: Hydrogen and ammonia storage with a particular emphasis on lightweight, reversible systems. Modelling ionic diffusion in hydrogen storage systems, batteries and fuel-cell electrodes.
Transport: Hydrogen provision for fuel-cell electric vehicles
Electricity Networks: Chemical storage based on hydrogen

Email: bill.david@chem.ox.ac.uk Visit Bill's website
Profile picture in black and white of Stephen Davies

Stephen Davies

Waynflete Professor of Chemistry

Storage: chemical, nitrogen based

Email: steve.davies@chem.ox.ac.uk Visit Stephen's website
Profile picture in black and white of Ben Davis

Ben Davis

Professor in Organic Chemistry

Storage: Synthetic photoproteins, enzymes for shuttle manipulation, use of formic acid as a shuttle.

Email: ben.davis@chem.ox.ac.uk Visit Ben's website

Martin Davy

Associate Professor

Fossil Fuels: Spark ignition engine combustion, low temperature diesel combustion, natural gas engine combustion, fuel sprays
Demand and Efficiency: Internal combustion engine efficiency
Bioenergy: Alcohol blended fuels, use of syngas in engines.

Email: martin.davy@eng.ox.ac.uk Visit Martin's website
Profile picture in black and white of Paul Dellar

Paul Dellar

University Lecturer

Nuclear: fusion theory, plasma physics

Email: paul.dellar@maths.ox.ac.uk Visit Paul's website
Profile picture in black and white of Stephen Duncan

Stephen Duncan

Professor

Storage: Battery management systems
Electricity Networks:  Battery management systems, monitoring stress on the grid

Email: stephen.duncan@eng.ox.ac.uk Visit Stephen's website
Profile picture in black and white of Peter Edwards

Peter Edwards

Professor of Inorganic Chemistry

Solar: Transparent conducting coatings for solar cells; solar chemical fuels from CO2
Fossil Fuels: Sustainability in the modern petrochemical industry
Bioenergy: Algae jet biofuel
Storage: Hydrogen and ammonia storage materials

Email: peter.edwards@chem.ox.ac.uk Visit Peter's website
Profile picture in black and white of Russell Egdell

Russell Egdell

Professor of Inorganic Chemistry

Solar: Photocatalysis

Email: russell.egdell@chem.ox.ac.uk Visit Russell's website
Profile picture in black and white of Paul Ewart

Paul Ewart

Visitor

Demand and Efficiency: Diagnostics for engine and fuel efficiency
Fossil Fuels: Combustion modelling
Transport

Email: paul.ewart@physics.ox.ac.uk Visit Paul's website
Profile picture in black and white of Nick Eyre

Nick Eyre

Professor of Energy and Climate Policy

Director, Oxford Energy Research

Economics, Policy & Politics: Energy efficiency and demand reduction policy, multi-scalar governance, market based instruments, carbon markets, UK energy policy, community and local projects

Electricity Networks: Energy efficiency obligations and feed-in tariffs, demand response and reduction in capacity markets;

Demand and Efficiency: Energy demand in all sectors, socio-technical approaches; policy interventions.

 

Email: nick.eyre@ouce.ox.ac.uk Visit Nick's website
Profile picture in black and white of Chris Farmer

Chris Farmer

Research Fellow

Fossil Fuels: Geological modelling, oil reservoir simulation, geostatistics, history matching, and seismic inversion.

Email: farmer@maths.ox.ac.uk Visit Chris's website
Profile picture in black and white of J. Doyne Farmer

J. Doyne Farmer

Co-Director, Complexity Economics

Economics: Discounting, forecasting technology improvement
Fossil fuels: Historical costs of coal-fired electricity
Nuclear: Pros and cons
Solar: Cost forecasts

Email: doyne.farmer@inet.ox.ac.uk Visit J.'s website
Profile picture in black and white of Bassam Fattouh

Bassam Fattouh

Director, Oxford Institute for Energy Studies

Economics, Policy and Politics: Political Economy of Resource Rich Economies; Energy Policy; OPEC Behaviour; Oil Pricing System
Fossil Fuels: Oil and Gas Markets
Energy in developing countries: Energy Poverty; Energy Subsidies

Email: bassam.fattouh@oxfordenergy.org Visit Bassam's website
Profile picture in black and white of Stephen Faulkner

Stephen Faulkner

Professor of Inorganic Chemistry

Nuclear: Chemistry of the fuel cycle elements, development of spectroscopic techniques for remote monitoring of speciation and for environmental analysis/remediation and study of minor actinide separation

Email: stephen.faulkner@chem.ox.ac.uk Visit Stephen's website
Profile picture in black and white of Tina Fawcett

Tina Fawcett

Senior Researcher and Acting Deputy Leader, ECI Energy Programme

Economics, Policy & Politics: UK & EU, energy demand, personal carbon trading, equity, fuel poverty
Demand and Efficiency: Households, non-domestic sectors, technology, behaviour

Email: tina.fawcett@ouce.ox.ac.uk Visit Tina's website Contact person | Demand and Efficiency