Wind turbine pioneers Garrad and Stiesdal win 2024 QEPrize

Alt text coming shortly
Andrew Garrad engineering alum, University of Oxford

Andrew Garrad, engineering alum of Oxford University has been awarded the 2024 Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering (QEPrize) for pioneering work designing and optimising wind turbines.

The award is given each year to celebrate engineers whose work has been of global benefit to society. The winners, whose work has led to the increase in the size of turbines and their extensive use in the production of clean energy, were announced at a ceremony held in London on the 6th February. Henrik Stiesdal was also awarded the prize, and they will split the £500,000 prize (US$631,000).

Read more here.

Tweet link opens new window Tweet