Oxford Researchers

Over 180 senior Oxford researchers are listed below. Find relevant researchers using the search field at the top right, or by using filters on the left. Entries can be narrowed down by initials, energy theme and department (and combinations thereof).
To return to the complete list click here.

People: Storage

Simon Aldridge

Professor of Main Group Chemistry

Storage: Hydrogen storage by lighter Main group hydrides, in particular catalysis of the processes of hydrogen evolution/uptake.

simon.aldridge@chem.ox.ac.uk
View website »

Peter Bruce

Wolfson Chair of Materials

Contact Person Storage
Storage: Batteries, including new electrode and electrolyte materials, interfaces, mechanisms
Transport: Batteries
Electricity Networks: Storage

peter.bruce@materials.ox.ac.uk
View website »

Bill David

Professor of Chemistry

Storage: Hydrogen and ammonia storage with a particular emphasis on lightweight, reversible systems. Modelling ionic diffusion in hydrogen storage systems, batteries and fuel-cell electrodes.
Transport: Hydrogen provision for fuel-cell electric vehicles
Electricity Networks: Chemical storage based on hydrogen

bill.david@chem.ox.ac.uk
View website »

Peter Edwards

Professor of Inorganic Chemistry

Contact Person Petrochemicals
Solar: Transparent conducting coatings for solar cells; solar chemical fuels from CO2
Fossil Fuels: Sustainability in the modern petrochemical industry
Bioenergy: Algae jet biofuel
Storage: Hydrogen and ammonia storage materials

peter.edwards@chem.ox.ac.uk
View website »

Jose Goicoechea

Associate Professor of Inorganic Chemistry

Fossil Fuels: Catalysis, fuel generation and combustion product transformation; carbon dioxide activation
Storage

jose.goicoechea@chem.ox.ac.uk
View website »

Patrick Grant

Vesuvius Professor of Materials

Storage: novel manufacture of supercapacitor and battery electrodes
Nuclear: processing of advanced metallics for fusion and fission
Transport: manufacture of high temperature aeroengine materials and lightweight airframe alloys

patrick.grant@materials.ox.ac.uk
View website »

Philipp Grünewald

EPSRC Fellow

Demand and Efficiency: demand response, load profiles, flexibility
Economics, Policy & Politics: low carbon transition, strategic policy development
Electricity Networks: integration of low carbon sources, curtailment, reinforcement
Storage: techno-economic modelling in future systems, market and system value, stakeholder attitudes, policy and regulation

philipp.grunewald@ouce.ox.ac.uk
View website »

Mike Hayward

Associate Professor of Inorganic Chemistry

Storage: Electrolytes for supercapacitors, batteries and oxide fuel cells. Fluoride ion batteries. New superconductors.

michael.hayward@chem.ox.ac.uk
View website »

David Howey

Associate Professor in Engineering Science

Storage: Battery modelling and diagnostics
Transport: electric motors, condition monitoring, thermal management
Energy in Developing Countries: Off-grid systems

david.howey@eng.ox.ac.uk
View website »

Wei Huang

Associate Professor

Bioenergy: Synthetic biology, biofuels, CO2, SimCells
Demand and Efficiency: Biofuels
Solar: Synthetic biology
Storage: Biofuels

wei.huang@eng.ox.ac.uk
View website »

Nick Jelley

Professor and Tutor in Physics

Solar: Solar concentrator for cooking; power generation
Energy in Developing Countries: Solar concentrator for cooking; power generation
Storage: Thermal

nick.jelley@physics.ox.ac.uk
View website »

Angus Johnston

Professor of Law

Economics, Policy & Politics: Legal requirements, law and policy on electricy markets
Fossil Fuels: Law and decision-making
Nuclear: Subsidies and legal rules
Storage: Legal rules and regulators
Demand and Efficiency: Legal regimes, rules and incentives
Solar: Rules and policies

angus.johnston@law.ox.ac.uk
View website »

Colin Johnston

Senior Research Fellow

Transport: advanced power trains, power electronics, batteries, high temperature electronics, electronic packaging
Storage: electrochemical, scalable processing, capacitors, supercaps
Electricity Networks: power electronics

colin.johnston@materials.ox.ac.uk
View website »

Tim Kruger

James Martin Fellow, Oxford Geoengineering Programme

Economics, Policy & Politics: Geoengineering, carbon pricing
Marine: Ocean alkalinity enhancement
Nuclear: Storing nuclear heat
Electricity Networks: energy storage
Storage: ‘Chemical pump storage’
Bioenergy: Reducing water requirements for biofuel production

tim.kruger@oxfordmartin.ox.ac.uk
View website »

Vladimir Kuznetsov

Lecturer in Inorganic Chemistry

Solar: Transparent conducting oxides
Storage: Hydrogen storage materials
Demand and Efficiency: Hydrogen economy, thermoelectric materials
Fossil Fuels: Catalysts for CO2 reduction

vladimir.kuznetsov@chem.ox.ac.uk
View website »

Bruce Levell

Visiting Professor

Fossil Fuels: Resource availibility and location
Storage: Sub-surface
Economics, Policy & Politics: Incumbent energy companies and their role in the energy transition

bruce.levell@earth.ox.ac.uk
View website »

Ho-Yin Mak

Associate Professor in Management Science

Solar Energy: adoption, marketing and incentives

 

Storage: capacity planning, investment and integration with renewable energy

 

Transport: electric vehicles (infrastructure planning and adoption), alternative business models (e.g., car sharing)

Ho-Yin.Mak@sbs.ox.ac.uk
View website »

Mike Mason

Bioenergy: Improving efficiency of anaerobic digestion plant
Energy in Developing Countries: Using semi arid land to grow energy crops
Storage: Using biogas storage to complement wind and solar energy

michael.mason@chch.ox.ac.uk
View website »

Malcolm McCulloch

Associate Professor in Engineering Science

Transport: electric motors, power train, well to wheels analysis
Electricity Networks: monitoring stress on the grid
Storage: thermal
Energy in Developing Countries: smart user-centric local systems

malcolm.mcculloch@eng.ox.ac.uk
View website »

Charles Monroe

Professor

Storage and Transport

Demand and Efficiency

Electricity Networks: storage for potential applications to grids in response to increasing penetration of renewables

charles.monroe@eng.ox.ac.uk
View website »

Andreas Muench

Reader in Applied Mathematics

Solar: Modelling of production of organic solar cells from polymer solutions
Storage: Modelling of fabrication process for nano-structured materials for batteries

andreas.muench@maths.ox.ac.uk
View website »

Michael A. Osborne

Dyson Associate Professor in Machine Learning

Electricity Networks: Smart Electricity Tariffs and Load Shifting
Storage: Machine Learning Approaches to Battery Management
Solar: Solar Photo-voltaic Prediction

mosb@robots.ox.ac.uk
View website »

Mauro Pasta

Associate Professor and Tutorial Fellow of Materials at St Edmund Hall

Storage and Transport

Materials chemistry and electrochemistry applied to energy storage and conversion devices. In particular:

  • Energy storage: Li and Na-ion batteries, ultracapacitors, supercapacitors.
  • Energy conversion: power from salinity gradients (blue energy), seawater desalination and delithiation.
  • Electrocatalysis: organic molecules electroxidation, ORR and HER reactions, carbon dioxide sequestration and electroreduction.

mauro.pasta@materials.ox.ac.uk
View website »

Dan Rogers

Professor

Electricity Networks: Power electronic systems for smart girds; high-voltage direct current transmission systems and converters.

Storage and Transport: Grid interfaces for large-scale energy storage systems, battery management systems

dan.rogers@eng.ox.ac.uk
View website »

Jonathan Stern

Chairman and Senior Research Fellow of the Natural Gas Programme

Economics, Policy & Politics: Gas pricing, utility regulation
Energy in Developing Countries: Asia
Fossil Fuels: Gas pricing
Demand and Efficiency
Storage

jonathan.stern@oxfordenergy.org
View website »

Jamie Warner

Professor of Materials

Solar: novel transparent electrodes from graphene, boron nitride and metal sulphides, atomic level material characterisation
Demand and Efficiency: nano-materials for light emitting displays, materials and processes for improved device performance
Storage: electrode materials for batteries and fuel-cells

jamie.warner@materials.ox.ac.uk
View website »